When the Highest Magnification on a Rifle Scope Is Not the Best

You will not ever regret spending a several extra dollars on getting a higher quality item, but you will constantly curse yourself if you purchase something that doesn’t get the job done.
.
There are thousands of rifle scopes available for purchase in our day with age. With so many possibilities the choice of the greatest rifle scope usually comes down to price. When making to choose the rifle scope for a gun, quite a few things should be taken under consideration besides just the price.

The first consideration should be how the rifle scope will likely be used. Is it about to be for hunting? In that case, what is the average range of the shot it’s going to used for? If the typical shot will be lower than 300 yards, or perhaps more like 300 to 1000 back yards, then we may be dealing with completely different options. When considering new rifle scopes the description for them usually is something like 3-9×40, or perhaps 16-42×50, etc. These numbers may seem foreign to most in the beginning but they will basically tell anyone purchasing a rifle scope all they need to know.

Most of the deer and elk hunters i hunt with will use something such as a 3-9×40 on their rifle because we are usually shooting less than 300 yards. The 3-9 before you start of this description is a variable magnification function relating to the scope. Meaning, the rifle scope comes with adjustment knob that can be set to magnify the prospective anywhere from 3 times to 9 times. The main reason the magnification would be adjusted is because of the distance of the shot being taken. When a deer is 300 yards away than the 9 times magnification would give the hunter a better view of the aim for. However, if that exact same deer appears at 40 yards, a 9 times magnification will increase the difficult of making the shot because all that could be seen is hair!

A good example of this happened to me many years ago while hunting elk with opening day of hunting season. It was early every day and I was hunkered down in a ground blind waiting for an elk to come down one of many well used trails I was sitting below. The trails were and easy 150 yards from where I sat so that i had my scope set at 9 times to make sure that I could see them clearly right after they came through. What I had not planned on however, was a nice bull suddenly walking in the brush at about 30 yards! I brought up my own rifle and tried to get him to stop which has a low grunt. It previously worked, but with the magnification set so high I could find him in my own scope. Long story short, I did not bag my elk on cracking open morning that year.

Since this experience I make sure I have my magnification set low just in case and am prepared to adjust up if the animal is further away. Rifle Scopes – Examine Hunting Rifle Scopes Before you Purchase OneWhen looking for a hunting rifle scope, one must always first review a amount of facts about what giving her a very needs are in this hunting scope itself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.